Georgia’s Shoplifting Penalties

Shoplifting pic
Shoplifting
Image: shopliftingprevention.org

E. Michael Vereen earned his juris doctorate from Emory University School of Law and has served the Atlanta region as an independent criminal defense attorney ever since. Since 1988, , E. Michael Vereen has represented clients facing charges from misdemeanors to felonies, including shoplifting.

Shoplifting in the state of Georgia involves more than simply taking an item from a retailer without paying. Individuals who alter or switch price tags can also be charged with shoplifting. The offense can be classified as a felony or misdemeanor, depending primarily on the value of items stolen, as well as other circumstances surrounding the crime.

First-time offenders charged with shoplifting less than $500 worth of items can face fines up to $1,000 and one year in jail. Penalties rise for repeat offenders, with the fourth offense becoming a felony charge in which the defendant can face up to 10 years in prison. First-time offenders charged with shoplifting more than $500 worth of items can also spend up to 10 years in prison. However, the state of Georgia offers diversion programs that might be available to allow defendants a chance to perform community service in order to avoid criminal prosecution. Although, to protect their own interests, merchants still have the option to take accused shoplifters to civil court.

E. Michael Vereen III (770) 345-9449 vereenlaw.com.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s