Marijuana Possession in Atlanta

Michael Vereen
Michael Vereen
Image: vereenlaw.com

After earning his juris doctor from Mercer University, E. Michael Vereen III enrolled in special advanced legal studies at Emory University and earned a master of laws. He went into private practice in greater Atlanta in 1989. Today, he is well-known for helping clients navigate bankruptcy as well as criminal and DUI (driving under the influence) cases. He is also experienced in representing people charged with marijuana possession and trafficking.

The loosening of criminal penalties for marijuana possession and use in certain parts of the country may lead to the misconception that it has been decriminalized nationwide. Nothing could be further from the truth. In the Atlanta area, possession of less than an ounce of marijuana is prosecuted as a misdemeanor, but the penalties can include driver’s license suspension, fines, community service, and imprisonment up to a year. First-time offenders may be treated more leniently, but this is not guaranteed. If the amount in possession is more than an ounce, or the discovery is made near a school, or the defendant is charged with possession with intent to sell, the charges can be upgraded to a felony with even more severe penalties.

Likewise, there is nothing in Georgia law that distinguishes the medical use of marijuana. People caught using the drug for medically-approved reasons face the same charges and penalties as someone caught in possession of marijuana for recreational use. A defendant who is charged with marijuana possession, even as a misdemeanor, should seek competent legal counsel to sort out and understand all the available options and help select the most advantageous course of action.

E. Michael Vereen III Attorney at Law (770) 345-9449 vereenlaw.com

Advertisements

Criminal Offenses Related to Marijuana in Georgia

Michael Vereen
Michael Vereen
Image: vereenlaw.com

Michael Vereen represents Georgia clients accused of criminal infractions ranging from driving under the influence to marijuana trafficking.

If an individual in Georgia suspects that he or she is under investigation for marijuana trafficking, that person should hire an attorney immediately. Trafficking charges can bring penalties of up 25 years in prison and $1 million in fines. A qualified criminal lawyer can move quickly to limit the range of actions that law enforcement can take when conducting an investigation.

If charged with simple possession of marijuana, individuals still ought to seek legal representation. In the state of Georgia, first offenders found with up to an ounce of marijuana can be imprisoned for many months and be fined hundreds of dollars. After the second offense, prison terms grow by years and fines become much more burdensome. With the assistance of an experienced lawyer, defendants may be able to achieve more positive legal outcomes.

E. Michael Vereen III Attorney at Law (770) 345-9449 vreenlaw.com.

Alcohol Laws in the State of Georgia

Michael Vereen
Michael Vereen
Image: vereenlaw.com

Attorney E. Michael Vereen III is a sole legal practitioner with a specialization in DUI, criminal, bankruptcy, and personal injury cases. A member of the bar in Georgia since 1989, E. Michael Vereen III draws on 25 years of experience to provide clients with high-quality legal services, including in reference to alcohol laws.

In the state of Georgia, an adult may purchase and drink alcohol from the age of 21. When parents or legal guardians are available to supervise, adults between the ages of 18 and 21 may also be served alcohol at bars and restaurants between 6:00 am and 12:00 am. Beer and wine may be purchased at grocery and convenience stores; however, spirits are available from retail package stores.

When driving a vehicle, the driver and passengers must not have access to bottles containing alcohol that have been opened. For this reason, opened bottles must be transported in the trunk. The level of alcohol in the bloodstream is measured using a BAC reading (blood alcohol content). The BAC limit is 0.08 percent, over which a driver may be deemed intoxicated according to the law. A driver with BAC exceeding the legal limit by a large amount may incur a harsher punishment. This may also be the case for drivers who choose not to cooperate with testing procedures. Punishments can include driving license suspensions for various periods, a vehicle interlock device, alcohol treatment and education, or vehicle confiscation.

E. Michael Vereen III Attorney at Law. (770) 345-9449. Vereenlaw.com.