As a resident of Canton, Georgia, who is dedicated to serving the needs of fellow members of the community, attorney Michael Vereen advocates for the legal rights of those who are involved with a bankruptcy, DUI, or criminal case in Georgia. Since 1989, the year Michael Vereen gained membership to the State Bar of Georgia, he has served individuals in need of legal representation through a private practice in which he remains the sole practitioner. While a large portion of his practice is dedicated to bankruptcy law, Michael Vereen also offers his services to individuals who have been arrested under the suspicion of a DUI charge in the Cobb and Cherokee counties of Georgia, as well as some additional surrounding areas.
Those who have been charged with a DUI for the first time can expect severe consequences. Individuals can be arrested for a DUI in two manners, through being classified as a “less safe” driver who appears to be influenced by alcohol or drugs while driving, or by taking a DUI test that returns an unlawful amount of alcohol (.08 blood alcohol level, or BAC) in the individual’s system.
If a first-time offender is arrested on either type of charge, he or she faces between $300 and $1,000 worth of statutory fines. First-time offenders must serve 24 hours of jail time (if their blood alcohol level is tested at or above .08), and can face anywhere between 10 days and 12 months, depending on their sentence and possible suspended jail time. Those over the age of 21 must complete 40 hours of community service, while first-time DUI defendants under the legal drinking age face at least 20 hours of community service. First-time DUI offenders also run the risk of losing their driver’s license, which can be suspended for anywhere between four months to a year. Those who refuse to take a DUI test will automatically receive a one-year suspension of their driver’s license.